The Upper Midwest Association of Promotional Professionals (UMAPP) held its annual Room Show! Show on March 9 at the Minneapolis Airport Marriott in Bloomington, Minnesota. The event featured 11 exhibitor seminars and an awards ceremony to recognize members’ accomplishments.

Exhibitor seminars were delivered by ADG Promotional, Apogee, 3M Promotional Markets, Fey Promo, Illini, Imagen, LarLu, Prime Line, Showdown Displays, Tekweld and Tervis. They were designed to deliver ideas and best practices to boost sales along with case histories and knowledge about products.

At its awards ceremony, the regional association presented Steven Meyer, MAS, vice president of customer development/operations at supplier RiteLine, with the UMAPP Hall of Fame Award. Meyer was chosen for his contributions to UMAPP’s success but also for his leadership at PPAI, where he served on the board in 2009-2014 and was its board chair in 2012-2013.

In a surprise move by the UMAPP board directors, Sue Selseth, executive director of the association, was also presented with a Hall Of Fame award. It was presented in recognition of the service and dedication she has given to UMAPP over the past 20 years.

Scott Hareid with Hareid Marketing was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award. In his recognition, the association noted, “Few industry vets have given as much time, energy and passion to UMAPP as Scott Hareid. Over the course of 15 years, Scott has seemingly done it all.” He has volunteered on and chaired numerous committees and executive officer positions at the regional association. He was on Regional Association Council board and was the RAC delegate to the PPAI Board in 2015.

UMAPP’s Super Star Awards recognize those within their companies who have proven to be invaluable and consistently go above and beyond what is expected. This year’s recipients are Rick Poferl of Storm Creek, Nikki Rothstein of Dubow Textile and Ben Mosey of Fields Manufacturing.