R.S. Owens Produces Vince Carter’s 2019-20 NBA Sportsmanship Award

NBA players have selected Vince Carter as the recipient of the 2019-20 NBA Sportsmanship Award. R.S. Owens, part of the St Regis Group (PPAI 230188, S6), designed and manufactured the award’s Joe Dumars Trophy. The Chicago, Illinois-based company also produces awards for the Primetime Emmy Awards, the Golden Globe Awards and other custom awards in entertainment, sports and corporate recognition.

Carter, who spent the 2019-20 season with the Atlanta Hawks, announced his retirement from the NBA in June after playing a league-record 22 seasons. Joe Dumars, a two-time NBA champion and Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Famer, played 14 NBA seasons and won the inaugural Sportsmanship Award in the 1995-96 season.

Each NBA team nominated one of its players for the NBA Sportsmanship Award, which is designed to honor a player who best represents the ideals of sportsmanship on the court. From the list of 30 team nominees, a panel of league executives selected one finalist from each of the NBA’s six divisions. Current NBA players selected the winner from the list of six finalists, with more than 250 players submitting their votes through confidential balloting conducted by the league office.

During his 22-year career, Carter earned eight NBA All-Star selections, was named to the All-NBA Team twice and won the 1998-99 Kia NBA Rookie of the Year Award. He also received the 2015-16 Twyman Stokes Teammate of the Year Award, which honors selfless play, on- and off-court leadership as a mentor and role model to other NBA players, and commitment and dedication to the team.

Carter, 43, has played the third-most games in NBA history (1,541) and is the only player to appear in a game in four different decades. He ranks 19th on the NBA’s all-time points list (25,728) and sixth in three-pointers made (2,290).

Read time:
Comments (0)
Leave a reply