Responding to layoffs and job losses stemming from the coronavirus outbreak, 11 states and the District of Columbia have opted to open enrollment again under the Affordable Care Act (ACA), and the White House has signaled it may reopen federal exchanges to provide subsidized health insurance to Americans.

California, Colorado, Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington have opened enrollment. While the ACA already allows those who lose their jobs to apply for insurance, these new special enrollment periods permit anyone without a health care plan to sign up for coverage. The federal government has set up similar special enrollment periods in the past during natural disasters.

PPAI Members looking for coverage can also reach out through the insurance offerings with Mercer and PPAI. Small businesses looking for group plans, available in select states, can click here. Individuals and families can use the PPAI Health Insurance Exchange where exchanges are open.