At its annual meeting earlier this month, the Premier Group, an alliance of suppliers and distributors, elected Paula Shulman, CAS, vice president of sales at supplier Prime Line, chair of the board of directors, and announced the recipients of the group’s awards program.

Shulman, a past president of the Specialty Advertising Association of Greater New York (SAAGNY) and current trustee of the Promotional Products Education Foundation (PPEF), began her term at the conclusion of the meeting, held May 3-6 at the Pointe Hilton Squaw Peak Resort in Phoenix, Arizona, and will serve through the conclusion of the 2018 annual meeting.

“This is an exciting time for Premier Group and I am thrilled to help lead the organization forward,” says Shulman. “Jeff did a great job during his term and I hope to build on his successes. I am looking forward to working with Michelle and the board to make Premier Group the best organization it can be.”

Michelle Guetle of Callard Promotional Marketing in New Albany, Ohio, was elected chair-elect and will succeed Shulman at the end of her term. Jeffrey Marks of Richmond, Virginia, distributor Promotional Considerations completes the executive committee as immediate past chair. Menda Wright, national account manager and co-owner of Creative Studio Promotions in Grand Rapids, Michigan, was elected as a new board member.

The board includes these members:

Chair: Paula Shulman, Prime Line

Chair Elect: Michelle Guetle, Callard Promotional Marketing

Immediate Past Chair: Jeffrey Marks, Promotional Considerations


Matt Bertram, Fields Manufacturing

Les Dorfman, High Caliber Line

Judy Goo, D & J Specialties

Glen Hersh, Hit Promotional Products

Dan Welborne, Trend Brand Solutions

Menda Wright, Creative Studio Promotions

Paul Smith, Calconix (emeritus)

Recipients of the Paul Smith Best Supplier Award, named for the group’s co-founder, were also announced:

Up to $20 million in annual sales: Calconix

$20 million-$50 million in annual sales: Showdown Displays

Over $50 million in annual sales: SanMar

Winners of the Doug Bruce Best Distributor Award, named for the group’s late co-founder, are:

Up to $2.5 million in annual sales: Creative Studio Promotions and D & J Specialties (tie)

$2.5 million-$6 million in annual sales: Bright Ideas in Broad Ripple

Over $6 million in annual sales: Callard Promotional Marketing

The awards were presented by outgoing Premier Group Chair Jeff Marks and all winners received crystal awards provided by Visions/Awardcraft.